Green Chilli Jam

After having to harvest a vast amount of green chillies from my garden a few days ago due to the impending frost, I was in a quandary as to what I could do with them. A colleague had the idea that if I could use red peppers and red chillies to make a sweet chilli jam, why couldn’t I use green chillies and green peppers too? I very rarely use green peppers in my cooking as I don’t like the taste so it would be a good opportunity to use them as a condiment instead.

I scoured the Internet and came across this recipe from the following web address and I’ll give this one a try and let you know how it tastes.

http://www.chutneyandspice.com/2011/onion/zen-and-the-art-of-chilli-chopping

Tracklements’ Chilli Jam (makes 8 jars)

500ml Cider Vinegar
1.5kg Raw Cane Sugar
120ml Lemon Juice
30g Garlic, crushed
400g Onions, peeled and roughly chopped
Heaped tablespoon of salt
750g Green or Red Chilli Peppers, deseeded and finely chopped
750g Green or Red Peppers, roughly chopped

Whizz the onion, pepper and garlic with a hand held blender for 10 seconds.
Warm the vinegar in your pan, and add the sugar stirring until it has dissolved. Add the lemon juice and stir in.
Add the rest of the ingredients and then bring to the boil, stirring frequently. Keep at a rolling boil for between 30-40 minutes, until the mixture has thickened to a good consistency.
Pour straight into sterilized jars and lid.

Ok.  I made this recipe this evening and it tastes great!. It has more of a kick than the red chilli jam that I made a few weeks ago but it is just as good.  Defo worth giving it a try if you have a lot of chillies or peppers that fail to ripen in the lack of remaining summer sunshine.

Happy Diggin’

Debb

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Green Chilli Jam

  1. Tiny Farmer says:

    This is gold. I have loads of green chillis and peppers which I’m also not a big fan of, but when you grow them yourself, you really don’t want to let them go to waste. I’m doubtful it can taste as good as red chilli jam though, but even though you are a total stranger, I trust you. Hopefully, in this instance, that won’t get me into too much trouble.

    • I’m glad that you trust my opinion with regards to the chilli jam. I can assure you that it does taste as good as the red chilli jam. It doesn’t look as appetising as the red but the taste makes up for it.
      Debb

  2. Jane Healy says:

    I followed a link here – and will start reading backwards – love the idea of this recipe!

    • Thanks for stopping by. I used to only make red chilli jam but found that at the end of last years harvest I had an abundance of green chillies so I found the recipe and the rest is history. Never again will I worry about my chillies having to ripen up!

  3. Looks good Debb. Always looking for ways to preserve the harvest.

  4. Sarah says:

    Great idea! I’ll be planting double the amount of chillies next year just so I can add green chilli jam to my preserves!

    • Sarah, you’ll be surprised at how nice it is. Mine had much more of a kick than the red chilli jam because I used some fairly hot chillies. Jalapeño peppers work well.

  5. Karen Quist says:

    Hi, I’m in Australia so our harvest time is now (April). We have had a weird growing season, with summer starting late and then a heat wave mid-Jan, where we had 5 days in a row over 40 Celsius. Sheer hell for gardeners, as you can imagine.
    Needless to say, we have an abundance of green chillies, as well as tomatoes. I’ve made chutney with the tomatoes (happy to share the recipe) and have been looking for something to make with all those green chillies. I’m going to try this recipe – thanks for posting 🙂
    Karen

    • Hi Karen thank you very much for your comment. I would love to share your recipe for the chutney that you use with your tomatoes and I hope that you enjoy the green chilli jam recipe too.

  6. Michelle says:

    Hi I only have 160grammes of vert hot finger chillies and one red pepper weighing 220grammes, can you pleas adjust the other quantities for me please?

  7. Michelle says:

    Thank you

  8. diane allen says:

    sorry pain i know- but do you leave the chilli or pepper seeds in – new to preserving!!!

  9. Liz says:

    I’ve made this a couple of times and it is very, very good – I just found the recipe again to do a new batch so thought I would say thanks for posting!!

  10. Ben says:

    Thanks for this great recipe . I used green chilliy that I had a lot of but I used red peppers so not only does it taste great it looks great as well. I will be using this again thank you .

  11. Louise says:

    Thanks so much for this! I live in Kenya at the moment and I have loads of chills to use up…my crop just flourished so this is perfect.
    I used both colours and it’s great with cheese. (Little bit of heaven right there)! It’ll be a go to recipe for me now. 🙂

    • I’m glad that you found the recipe useful. It’s one that I return too every year with my glut at the end of the season. The jam doesn’t last long in our home 😉

  12. wegadmin says:

    I made this last year. It won first prize at my local produce show. Getting ready for this year’s batch. Should be a hottie with Hot Scotch chillies

  13. Clare says:

    This is amazing recipe
    Do you have to properly can it (ie boil in the jars )or is it enough to store in the sterilized canning jars and if so how long will it keep? And, does it need to be kept in the fridge if you don’t can it?
    Thanks

    • Hi Clare thanks for your comment. I have never pressure canned or water bathed these jars as I find that they keep amazingly well just by placing them into jars that have been sterilised. I keep them in a cool dark place and once open I store them in the fridge. They do last a very long time and so far I have had no issues with jars that have been made two years previously. I could see no harm in water bathing them if that is your preferred method of longtime storage.

Leave a comment