Rhubarb Custard Pie

As usual at this time of year I have a glut of rhubarb from my allotment.  Bored with the traditional rhubarb crumble, worried that the neighbours won’t want me to deliver any more armfuls to them, I thought that it was time to find some new recipes that I could use for this tart fruit (or some would say vegetable).

I am a subscriber to a site called Kitchen Parade and the latest edition to the site was the following recipe.  I haven’t tried it as yet, but I am definitely going to give it a try.  Photo of the baked pie can be found on Kitchen Parade website.  Thanks for sharing with us.

RHUBARB CUSTARD PIE

Hands-on time: 25 minutes
Time to finish: 90 minutes
Time to table, including chilling: 4 hours
Makes 1 9” shallow or deep-dish pie

  • 1 unbaked pie shell

RHUBARB

  • 4 cups (16oz/453g) fresh rhubarb cut into ¼” pieces
  • 3/4 cup (150g) sugar
  • 1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice
  • 2 tablespoons flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon table salt

CUSTARD

  • 3 large eggs, whisked
  • 1 cup (248g) double cream
  • 2 tablespoons melted butter
  • 1 teaspoon grated nutmeg

TOPPING

  • 2 tablespoons sugar, plain or raw

Heat oven to 400F. Line a pie pan with pastry, chill until ready to fill.

Please note, the pie bakes in three stints: first, just the rhubarb alone for 20 minutes; then with the custard for another 20 minutes; finally with the sugar for 10 minutes or until done.

RHUBARB In a bowl, combine all ingredients. Turn into pie shell and spread evenly. Bake for 20 minutes on the lowest rack in the oven, directly on a baking stone if possible.

CUSTARD While rhubarb bakes, gently whisk all the ingredients. Gently pour into partially baked pie, leaving about a half-inch of crust exposed – if using a shallow pie plate, there will be leftover custard. Bake for 20 minutes on the center rack.

TOPPING Sprinkle pie with sugar. Bake for another 10 minutes or until center is no longer soft and jiggly.

COOL Cool completely without covering, about 1 hour. Refrigerate pie until ready to serve.

LEFTOVERS Best on the first day but in my family, leftover pie for breakfast is a tradition! Be sure to keep refrigerated.

Happy bakin’

Debb

This entry was posted in Allotment, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Rhubarb Custard Pie

  1. Michele says:

    Oh my, sounds so yummy! I must get my neighbor to give me a start on my own rhubarb patch.

  2. Um, a) where is mine and b) what do you mean you’ve been giving away my crumble (yes – I am laying claim to it from here).

Leave a Reply

