Pre packaged fruit and veg

I recently wrote another article about how the supermarkets waste tons and tons of perfectly good fruit and veg simply because their sell by date has expired.  The article can be found by clicking the link below if you would like to read more.

Sell by dates of fruit and veg

I have grown some truly wonky carrots, take a look at some of these carrot specimens but they still tasted like carrots. I have grown some curvy cucumbers but they still taste as cucumbers do, possibly even better than the stuff that is purchased in the supermarket. Go to any farmers market and you will see the produce from the local farm sold in the same state as when it came out of the ground. Carrots unrecognisable for the dirt around them, potatoes all knobbly and muddy that look completely inedible; but these vegetables, once thoroughly cleaned and cooked have a flavour that completely supersedes those specimens sold at our local supermarkets.

Personally, I think there’s nothing better than growing your own because you cannot beat the taste of fresh homegrown fruit and vegetable. The taste of a freshly picked tomato from your own vine tastes so divine that you would never want to taste a supermarket watery variety again.

Growing your own also opens up the opportunity for you to grow the types fruit and vegetables that you and your family love but cost a lot of money to purchase at the supermarkets. Fresh runner beans and peas for example can be quite expensive to purchase, yet one solitary bean seed can produce one plant that could harvest up to 5lbs of beans.

A single pot with a courgette plant growing happily on your patio could allow you to harvest as many as 15 – 20 courgettes from one plant, yet in the supermarket you could pay anything up to £2 and above three courgettes! And again I’m going to remind you that there is nothing like the taste of home-grown vegetable. Ask anyone who’s ever tasted anything that has grown from someone’s allotment or someone’s backyard you can clearly taste the difference.

Homegrown strawberries have to be one of the easiest soft fruits to grow and they taste out of this world! Seasonally, they are ready from as early as late May or early June where you can harvest punnets and punnets from the bare minimum plants. They also reward you by giving you free runners allowing you to reproduce and plant more and share!

Nothing beats growing your own. It saves you money, it’s brilliant exercise (take that from somebody who hates exercise) and seeing your own produce grow from a single seed with just a little love, care and attention is amazing.

So when I see the dates on prepackaged fruit and vegetables within the supermarkets, I personally take no notice. As long as it looks edible, is not bruised or rotten, I don’t care what it looks like as long as it tastes as it should.

I want an apple to taste like an apple I don’t care if it looks like a pear!

This entry was posted in Allotment, Press articles and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Pre packaged fruit and veg

  1. very nice piece and very true

  2. MrsYub says:

    lol! or an orange that looks like a lemon, eh? I’m the same, so long as its not rotten I’ll use it 😉

  3. Pecora Nera says:

    Ciao Debb,
    How did you manage to get your article published?? Did you send them samples. Best regards Pecora Nera

    • Ha ha! I guess that they just thought that readers would be interested in what I had to say. I am very opinionated in certain matters and I hope that my message that I try to send comes across to others but not in a forceful manner. It’s the Leo in me!

      • Pecora Nera says:

        Ok, I just wondered if you approached them or they approached you?

        By the way, it is a nice article.

      • Oh. I misunderstood. Initially, my sister wrote to the editor on my behalf asking if these articles would be something that they would use on their site. I submitted a couple of sample pieces to show my style and type of work to the editor and he seemed impressed and agreed that I could write for them. I am not limited to having to write an article each week or month; I simply submit an article when I have a topic in mind. I try and make the articles a little more in depth and topical than I do on my blogs hence why I don’t have many written yet. Finding the time to blog is hard enough.

        Hope that helps and if it is something that you are thinking of doing, I wish you every success. X

      • Pecora Nera says:

        Thanks you very much.

        I am trying to write an opening letter, that II can send to magazines and newspapers in the UK. I just need to get the write amount of humour and be topical enough to catch their attention.

        I will ask Mrs Sensible to double check the grammar

      • I’m sure you’ll be great. I love reading your blog. I often chuckle to myself when I read your posts. Best of luck. Let me know how you get on. Debb

      • Pecora Nera says:

        Thanks for the encouragement, I will keep you updated.

        Oh! Luigina the old lady who lives next door, told me I need to plant my seeds either on Friday or Saturday because it is a new moon 😉 I wonder if she want’s me to plant them at midnight???

        Pecora Nera

Leave a Reply

