Heat for your seeds in the midst of winter!

I am so eager and keen to get my crops off to a thriving start this month that I used some of the money I received at Christmas and treated myself to a heated propagator.  I thought a lot about buying one last year but as I didn’t have my allotment plot until later on in the year, I couldn’t justify the need for one.  I managed to get a brand new, thermostatically controlled, decent sized one relatively cheaply off a well-known auction site!

IMG_8912IMG_8914

Last year, germinating my variety of seeds was chaotic to say the least!  I took over all the sunny windowsills in the house; aubergines, cucumbers and chillies grew happily on the bedroom windows sills while tomatoes and sweet peppers took over my dining table in the kitchen.  My kitchen looked like a garden nursery; not something that I reckon my husband will take too kindly too this year. So luckily for me, I now have the luxury of my new propagator and 2 greenhouses to happily house my seedlings.

All I need to do now is to reign in my enthusiasm and set myself limits to the number of varieties I’m going to grow this year. Last year, I had at least 8 varieties of tomatoes and too many varieties of chillies and peppers to count.  Plan of action needed pretty soon.

Happy sowin’

Debb

This entry was posted in Allotment. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Heat for your seeds in the midst of winter!

  1. Happy sowing Debb. It’s great to make our plans for the year. I’m already thinking of what I’ll be planting in 2013. It’s a struggle at the moment as we are experiencing a heatwave over here in the land of OZ, but come March it will be all systems go when we can really get planting. Very exciting.

    • I’m itching to get started with lots of my seeds. As we are having quite mild weather I sometimes forget that we are still in the middle of winter. We have forecasts of -6 on Sunday so I definitely think I’m going to wait until February. Well, that’s the plan anyway!

  2. Mark Willis says:

    Chillis and tomatoes: good choice! My favourites too… This year I really am going to try holding off sowing until the weather turns milder. Last year I started my chillies too early and I had to nurture them very carefully. Some of my toms went leggy too, for lack of light. I would like one of those “light-box” contraptions – if only I had somewhere to put it! 🙂

    • You sound so much like me with the chilies and tomatoes. I too grew so many last year, so early that I too struggled with where I was going to place them before the weather had completely warmed up. I have to have a little discipline with myself this year though and only grow half of what I grew last year. Just don’t quote me on it when I end up with more plants than I know what to do at the end of May! 🙂

  3. Pecora Nera says:

    Debbbb’s Happy New Year!!!!

    • Happy new year right back at you!. Let’s hope that your Italian sunshine helps your plants grow in abundance!

      • Pecora Nera says:

        Phah!!! It is very cold here, too cold to go digging.

        I have some cauliflowers, that have a lot of leaves and very little flowers (no idea why) and maybe 15 fennel plants that I hope grow large enough before the snow comes. They are very sweet and tasty but not as large as the ones Mrs Sensible’s dad grows in Sicily.

        I also still have some manure that the local farmer left me that still needs digging in.

        However this was my first year, and some things grew well, tomatoes, aubergines etc.

      • I’ve never tried fennel. Maybe that could be one of the new plants that I try this year. Could your soil be high in nitrogen as that causes leafy growth? Maybe why your cauli’s are mainly leaves. X

      • Pecora Nera says:

        Maybe, anything that grows above ground is wonderful. I was still picking tomatoes at the end of November and the peas went wild.

        The soil is clay and has never been cultivated. Maybe I should just start a pottery.

      • My sentiments exactly. I’m grateful for any veg that grows that can provide for my family. I’m not bothered what it looks like as long as it’s tasty and when growing your own, you defo can’t beat the taste!
        Here’s to a successful growing year for us all.

  4. Andy says:

    That reminds me, I have a heated propagator somewhere. Perhaps I should clean it so I feel like I’m on the way to sowing some seeds. Then the year may have really begun.

Leave a Reply

