Scotch Bonnets – Hot Pepper Sauce

20120929-220549.jpg

This morning I made West Indian hot pepper sauce using Scotch Bonnet chillies from the local continental food store and my greenhouse. The overall sauce colour depended entirely on the colour chillies that you use.

The chillies need to be roasted in a hot oven until they are chargrilled. You can remove some of the seeds if you wish to make the sauce less potent. Trust me, I can handle my heat but I still remove some seeds.

20120929-215528.jpg

Also a word to the wise – you may want to use rubber gloves at this stage. I also used a glass chopping board instead of my usual plastic one to prevent the chilli oils ingraining on the board.

20120929-215712.jpg
Add the chillies 225g that you finely chopped to a pan along with 20g garlic, 50g brown sugar, 50g salt, 10g mustard flour, 1/2 tsp cumin, 1/2 tsp turmeric, 2 dessert spoons of corn flour and 500ml of vinegar.

Combine all the ingredients well and boil for 10 minutes. You may want to ventilate the room at this stage as the smell of the vinegar and chillies can be a little overpowering.

Blend the liquid until smooth then decant into sterilised bottles. I used recycled West Indian hot pepper sauce bottles for a little authenticity.

20120929-220428.jpg

Debb. X

Gallery | This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Scotch Bonnets – Hot Pepper Sauce

  1. Hasu Patel says:

    Hey! My kind of sauce, can’t give feedback unless I get to try some!!!

  2. Barbara says:

    She really does have a bottle with your name on Hasu it will warm you up on these cold winter days xxxxx Debbi hot fire sauce xxx lol

Leave a Reply

